TIL about .format

I was working with a Korean language corpus to extract what are called measure words.

The corpus had lines of text that consisted of product name, numbers, quantities, and measure words.

But the lines were all jumbled up, and I needed a way to add a \n at the end of each line, if only to be able to make the resulting text more human readable.

At first, I just ran a code block like the following:

with open('outfile.txt', 'w') as outf:
    for i in captured:
        outf.write(i)

BTW I don’t know why the code block is showing the div tags…

But the result was not satisfactory. So I tried the following:

with open('outfile.txt', 'w') as outf:
    for i in captured:
        outf.write(i, \n)

The output of this code was nothing.

I realized what I had done, and added single quotes around \n like so:

with open('outfile.txt', 'w') as outf:
    for i in captured:
        outf.write(i, '\n')

But then I got an error like the below:

TypeError: write() takes exactly one argument (2 given)

After that, I concluded that I couldn’t add another argument to the method write(), so I thought I would try the join() method.

with open('outfile.txt', 'w') as outf:
    for i in captured:
        final_sent = '\n'.join(i)
        outf.write(final_sent)

But doing that returned results like the following:

a
b
c
d

1
adf
gadf

.
.
.

So I tried putting something else inside the quotes. Just to see what the output would be.

with open('outfile.txt', 'w') as outf:
    for i in captured:
        final_sent = ';'.join(i)
        outf.write(final_sent)
I got the following output:

a;b;c;d;e;f;g; 1;2;f;g;a;d;
So I decided to do some more digging and came across this page that talked about using the “`format()“` method!I made some changes to my code as below, and I finally got the results I wanted 🙂

with open('outfile.txt', 'w') as outf:
    for i in captured:
        outf.write('{}\n'.format(i))

Someone more advanced in Python skills could have just told me what to do from the start. But I guess there are things you learn while trying different things and getting different error messages…Here’s to making lots more errors!

Leave a Reply

