Amn’t I?

Just something to think about.

I was talking about something with my brother and sister, and I said, I’m pretty [insert adjective here], aren’t I?”

That just got me thinking. Why do we say aren’t I when are is never used for the first person singular pronoun in English?

For instance, why isn’t it amn’t I? It’s funny because when we say the negative question sans a contracted form à la “I’m a student, am I not?”, then we use am and not are.

One explanation I got was that amn’t is difficult to pronounce, and unnatural to say given English pronunciation rules.

Oh, the idiosyncrasies of English.

Leave a Reply

